极乐世界:高科技/低情商

运用类型教练影响力课程中传授的技巧制定战略

作业:制定影响策略

下面的情景设计旨在测试你的性格分析和影响力技能。请使用 类型教练影响力计划 为下文描述的每个虚构人物建立个性档案,并制定适当的影响策略,以应对远东极乐世界的情况。

背景介绍

你是一名校长,拥有 无限信号合作伙伴 (ISP) 是人工智能和其他特定高科技领域的领先风险投资公司之一。您的董事总经理 托马斯ISP最有前途的投资组合公司之一的员工调查数据、 极乐世界.虽然 Far Elysian 的核心技术让 ISP 的每个人都兴奋不已,但该公司正处于发展的拐点,而且出现了一些问题。此前,ISP 曾牵头对 Far Elysian 进行了 $27M 的 B 轮投资,随着营销职能和产品团队的扩大,该公司的员工人数正在翻番。

调查数据

Tomas 分享了 Far Elysian 的员工调查数据,并要求对公司的文化和领导力进行审查,以了解这些因素是否对调查结果产生了影响。虽然在 ISP,投资组合公司的领导层总是受到严格审查,但 Tomas 通常比其他常务董事更关注企业文化。不过,只要看一眼调查结果,您就开始明白托马斯为什么要您仔细研究了:

  • 匿名调查对象:142
    • 所有评分均为综合评分,总分为 100 分
  • 总体满意度?63/100
  • 管理层是否明确传达了企业的战略愿景?33/100
  • 人们的协作能力如何?21/100
  • 您是否设想 3 年后继续留在这家公司?51/100
  • 您是否每天都精力充沛、灵感迸发、全力以赴?22/100
  • 您正在开发的产品是否符合市场需求?86/100
  • 您是否被鼓励分享您的想法和建议?15/100
  • 请用几个词描述高级领导团队:
    • "把头埋在沙子里"
    • "断开"
    • "反应、分散、混乱"
    • "失踪"
    • "在他们的碉堡里做他们的事"
    • "从未与他们交谈过"
    • "破破烂烂,但 36 个月后就不好看了"
    • "谁?"

要应对这种情况,您需要为 有关负责人。

Adriana Brunner, Far Elysian 首席执行官兼联合创始人

阿德里安娜-布鲁纳,远东伊利森

公司能有今天的成就,主要得益于布鲁纳对产品的远见卓识。她预见了主要趋势,被誉为走在时代前列的行业领袖。布鲁纳是一位放手型领导者,众所周知,她会从日常运营中抽出很长一段时间,通常会带着新的突破性想法回来。她要求严格、不拘一格、干劲十足,经常会站在争论的对立面,扮演魔鬼代言人的角色。虽然布鲁纳通常走在曲线的前面,但当团队落后于最后期限或遇到意想不到的变化时,她往往会反应迟钝。她还因制定不切实际的时间表而臭名昭著,常常让人觉得项目并不是什么大不了的事。布鲁纳还倾向于专注于产品,除了她的核心团队,她不愿意与任何人打交道。而且,到目前为止,产品能满足市场的需求只是一个意外,并不是有意制定的商业计划或路线图的一部分。团队现在担心的是,她正在推动的一些项目是 "边缘 "功能,只与极乐世界目前的一小部分用户相关。

猜猜阿德里安娜-布鲁纳的性格类型

看看你能否利用上节所述的个性特征 为虚构人物建立个性档案、 阿德里安娜-布鲁纳 Far Elysian 首席执行官兼联合创始人.

1 / 4

Adriana Brunner - 外向型 (E) 还是内向型 (I)?

识别外向型内向型

2 / 4

Adriana Brunner - 传感器(S)还是直觉(N)?

传感器或直观

3 / 4

阿德里亚娜-布鲁纳--思考者(T)还是感受者(F)?

思考者还是感受者?

4 / 4

Adriana Brunner - 判断(J)还是感知(P)?

识别判断者 感知者

Far Elysian 首席运营官兼联合创始人 David Haas

大卫-哈斯,极乐世界

作为布鲁纳的 "阴 "与 "阳 "的结合,哈斯脚踏实地、实事求是,与布鲁纳的长期愿景相辅相成。作为一名幕后操作者,Haas 在危机中处变不惊,他冷静而不失风趣的风格让每个人都感到安心。他在午餐室里比在会议室里更自在,如果只说不做,他就会焦躁不安。他的一个标志性特点是,在提出一个事半功倍的行动计划之前,先让整个会议室的人一起讨论。 一样复杂。当他和布鲁纳意见相左时,他们会碰撞出真正的火花--然后若无其事地继续工作(往往会在周围留下附带损害)。随着 Far Elysian 的发展壮大,他继续坚持 "保持简单,愚蠢 "的方法,避免了过于复杂的组织结构、臃肿的审批流程和过多的官僚主义。不过,他也开始显露出压力的迹象,最近已进一步退出聚光灯下,专注于感觉更接近行动的项目。与公司规模较小时相比,运营方面的工作对他来说可能变得更加繁琐,每项挑战都是全新的、不同的。

托马斯-沃尔夫,Infinite Signal Partners 董事总经理

托马斯-沃尔夫,互联网服务提供商

托马斯-沃尔夫托马斯是 Infinite Signal Partners 的常务董事,也是你的老板。在与托马斯共事的过去 3 年中,你对他的个人生活知之甚少。在工作中,他非常敬业、勤奋、有条理、注重细节。他彬彬有礼、耐心细致、深思熟虑,不会轻举妄动,也不会很快得出结论--当然,不会在没有电子表格的情况下得出结论。一位分析师指出,托马斯的工作方式非常像他喜欢佩戴的瑞士手表。最让你惊讶的是,在你与托马斯建立信任的过程中,他表现得热情、体贴、富有同情心--他似乎对公司领导层以及投资组合公司层面所涉及的许多微妙的人际关系因素都了如指掌。  

远东伊利员工

与许多人工智能公司和高科技领域的公司一样,Far Elysian 的大部分员工都拥有计算机科学或工程学的高级学位。公司的研究部门最近招聘了相当数量的员工,该部门从一些生命科学领域(Far Elysian 认为人工智能在这一领域有很大的发展空间)引进了专业人才。员工们将公司文化形容为 "亲切但枯燥"--大家各司其职,但不太喜欢社交。业务电话和会议都是讨论手头的问题,讨论/解决问题,然后继续前进。人们经常会发现,公司里的其他人同时在做与另一个人相同或类似的工作。公司没有分享项目工作、状态等信息的非正式渠道,人们通常满足于各自为政。最近,公司流失了一些知名人才,转投规模更大、更成熟的公司。研究表明,Far Elysian 的薪酬仍然具有竞争力,这些人才的离职是与经理/同事发生冲突的结果。

一位工作人员在离职访谈中说:"这个地方没什么了不起的。它不坏,也不棒。但是,我要离开这里,因为在基本情商方面,这里就是一片荒地"。

调查数据显示,员工普遍不清楚公司的发展方向、如何实现目标以及每个员工在实现目标过程中应发挥的作用。

关于 TypeCoach

TypeCoach 是首个将现场培训与在线工具相结合的平台,可根据性格差异提供人际沟通建议。参加我们研讨会的学员将学会根据可观察到的线索识别他人的性格类型,然后学习如何进行相应的调整和影响。我们与各行各业的世界领先组织合作。

我们正在寻找类似上述 Far Elysian 方案的客户机会--我们可以在为期 3 年的学习期内为所有员工提供培训和支持,以实施我们的解决方案,并全面衡量投资回报率。

如需了解更多信息,请联系罗布-图米(Rob Toomey)。 rob@typecoach.com.

阿德里亚娜-布鲁纳的影响策略

阿德里安娜-布鲁纳,远东伊利森
  • 即将更新。
  • 如有疑问,请联系 support@typecoach.com!
Rob Toomey

Rob Toomey

TypeCoach 总裁兼联合创始人

相关主题

准备好尝试TypeCoach了吗?

滚动到顶部

Far Elysian: High Tech / Low EQ

Use techniques taught in the TypeCoach Influence Program to Strategize

The Assignment: Develop Influencing Strategies

The scenario below is designed to test your personality profiling and influencing skills. Please use the techniques taught in the TypeCoach Influence Program to form a personality profile for each of the fictional characters described below along with appropriate influencing strategies to address the Far Elysian situation.

Background

You’re a Principal with Infinite Signal Partners (ISP), one of the leading venture capital firms in artificial intelligence and select other high-tech categories. Your Managing Director, Tomas, has asked you to investigate recent employee survey data from one of ISP’s most promising portfolio companies, Far Elysian. While the technology at the heart of Far Elysian has everyone at ISP excited, the company is at an inflection point in its growth and there are several red flags emerging. ISP has previously led a $27M Series B investment into Far Elysian and the company is in the process of doubling its employee base as it expands both the marketing function as well as the product team.

Survey Data

Tomas shared Far Elysian’s employee survey data and asked for a review of the company’s culture and leadership to see if those played a role in the results. While portfolio company leadership always get a lot of scrutiny at ISP, Tomas is usually more interested in the culture of an organization than the other Managing Directors. A quick glance at the survey results however and you began to understand why Tomas wanted you to look closer:

  • Anonymous survey respondents: 142
    • All ratings are aggregated with a total possible score of 100
  • Overall satisfaction? 63/100
  • Does management clearly convey the strategic vision of the business? 33/100
  • How well do people collaborate? 21/100
  • Do you envision being at this company in 3 years? 51/100
  • Are you energized and inspired to do your best work most days? 22/100
  • Is the product you are building what the market wants and needs? 86/100
  • Are you encouraged to share your ideas and suggestions? 15/100
  • In a few words, describe the senior leadership team:
    • “Head in the sand”
    • “Disconnected”
    • “Reactive, scattered, chaotic”
    • “MIA”
    • “Off in their bunker doing their thing”
    • “Never spoke with them”
    • “Scrappy but not looking 36 months out”
    • “Who?”

To navigate this situation, you will need to create a personality profile for the three principals involved.

Adriana Brunner, Far Elysian’s CEO and Co-Founder

Adriana Brunner, Far Elysian

The company is where it is today primarily based on Brunner’s product vision. She has anticipated major trends and is hailed as an industry leader ahead of her time. A hands-off leader, Brunner is known to take lengthy breaks from day-to-day operations, usually returning with a new breakthrough idea. Demanding, intense, unconventional, and driven, she will often take the opposite side of an argument and play devil’s advocate. While Brunner is usually ahead of the curve, she tends to react poorly when the team falls behind deadline or when unexpected changes are encountered. She’s also notorious for setting unrealistic timelines, often leaving people with the sense that the project should not be that big a deal. Brunner also tends to focus on product with very low appetite for dealing with anyone but her core team. And, to the extent that the product has been what the market has wanted so far has been a happy accident – not part of an intentional business plan or road map. The team is now concerned that some of the projects she’s pushing are “fringe” features that will only be relevant to a fraction of Far Elysian’s current users.

Guess Adriana Brunner's Personality Type

See if you can use the personality characteristics described in the above section to build a personality profile for the fictional character, Adriana Brunner, Far Elysian’s CEO and Co-Founder.

1 / 4

Adriana Brunner - Extravert (E) or Introvert (I)?

Identify Extravert Introvert

2 / 4

Adriana Brunner - Sensor (S) or Intuitive(N)?

Sensor or Intuitive

3 / 4

Adriana Brunner - Thinker (T) or Feeler (F)?

Thinker or Feeler?

4 / 4

Adriana Brunner - Judging (J) or Perceiving (P)?

Identify Judger Perceiver

David Haas, Far Elysian’s COO and Co-Founder

David Haas, Far Elysian

The yin to Brunner’s yang, Haas is the grounded, practical, realistic counterbalance to her long-term vision. A behind the scenes operator who is unflappable in a crisis, Haas brings a calm yet playful style that puts everyone at ease. More comfortable in the lunchroom than the board room, he gets antsy when there is a lot of talk without a lot of action. One of his signature traits is to let a whole room work through a plan of action before suggesting something twice as effective and 1/10th as complicated. When he and Brunner disagree, they can clash with real sparks flying – and then continue working as if nothing happened (often leaving collateral damage around them). As Far Elysian has grown, he has continued to bring a “keep it simple, stupid” approach that has prevented overcomplicated organizational structures, bloated approval processes, and too much bureaucracy. However, he has also started to show signs of stress and has recently stepped further out of the spotlight to focus on projects that feel closer to the action. It’s likely the operations side of things has become more of a chore for him than it was when the company was smaller, and every challenge was new and different.

Tomas Wolfe, Managing Director of Infinite Signal Partners

Tomas Wolfe, ISP

Tomas Wolfe, is the Managing Director of Infinite Signal Partners and is also your boss. Over the last 3 years working with Tomas, you’ve learned very little of his personal life. At work, he is extremely dedicated, diligent, organized, and detail oriented. Polite, patient and thoughtful, he does not move rashly or reach conclusions quickly – certainly not without a spreadsheet. One analyst has noted that Tomas works very much like the Swiss watches he is fond of wearing. What has surprised you most is that as you have built trust with Tomas, he has shown himself to be warm, caring, and empathetic – he seems tuned into many of the subtle interpersonal elements involved both within the leadership of the firm as well as at the portfolio company level.  

Far Elysian Employees

As with many AI firms and those in the high-tech space, a significant percentage of the Far Elysian staff have advanced degrees in computer science or engineering. A fair number of recent hires are in the firm’s research division, which has brought in expertise from a number of the life sciences (an arena where Far Elysian sees major room for AI advancement). Staff describes the culture as “cordial, but dry” – people do their work but don’t tend to socialize much. Business calls and meetings get into the issues at hand, discuss/resolve, and then move on. It is quite common for people to find out that someone else within the company was simultaneously doing the same or similar work as another person. There are no informal channels for sharing project work, status. etc. and generally people are content to work on their own thing in silos. Recently, the firm has lost some high-profile talent to larger, more established players. Research suggests that Far Elysian compensation remains competitive and that the departures were the result of conflicts with managers/colleagues.

One staffer was quoted in their exit interview as saying “There’s nothing remarkable about this place. It’s not bad, it’s not great. But, I am leaving because it is a wasteland when it comes to basic emotional intelligence.”

As the survey data shows, there is a widespread lack of clarity among staff about the direction the company is heading in, how to get there, and what each staff member’s role in getting there is supposed to be.

About TypeCoach

TypeCoach is the first platform to combine live training and online tools that provide interpersonal communication advice based on personality differences. Participants in our workshops learn to identify the personality type of others based on observable clues – and then how to adapt and influence accordingly. We work with the world’s leading organizations in all industries.

We are looking for client opportunities like the Far Elysian scenario above – where we can train and support all staff over a 3-year learning window to implement our solutions with full ROI measurement.

To learn more, please contact Rob Toomey – rob@typecoach.com.

Influencing Tactics for Adriana Brunner

Adriana Brunner, Far Elysian
  • UPDATES COMING SOON.
  • Contact support@typecoach.com with questions!
Rob Toomey

Rob Toomey

President and Co-Founder of TypeCoach

Related Topics

Ready to try TypeCoach?

Rolar para o topo