我会在周五之前给你

判断者和感知者在使用同一个短语时往往有不同的含义

了解人们如何根据自己的性格类型对相同的词语做出不同的定义总是一件有趣的事情。当 法官 当一个人承诺说 "我会在星期五之前给你 "时,其含义往往与当一个人说 "我会在星期五之前给你 "时完全不同。 感知器 使用完全相同的短语。当我们在研讨会上请与会者分享他们听到人们说 "星期五之前 "时的感受时,通常会有以下几种说法:

法官

  • 我希望在周五之前收到,所以是周四下午/晚上。
  • 周五上午中旬,我希望能收到它......我已经准备好了东西,一旦收到就马上寄出。
  • 下午晚些时候令人失望,但还可以接受。
我会在周五之前给你 - 法官跑步

感知器

  • 我希望在周五下午 4:59 之前收到。
  • 周五晚上 11:59 之前的任何时间 - 嘿,今天还是周五!
  • 周一早上可以,反正周末我也没打算做什么!
我会在周五之前给你 - Perceiver 放松工作

这自然会带来问题,原因也就不难理解了 信任问题 当我们对常用词语的定义存在根本性差异时,就会出现这种情况。避免这种情况的建议非常简单:在讨论时间表和截止日期时、 在达成协议之前,必须达到足够明确的程度.假定与你合作的人遵守了他们的最后期限,并清楚地知道 什么 最后期限是

"我能在周五中午之前拿到吗?"

与其说 "我周五之前给你",不如说 "我周五中午之前给你":"我能在周五中午之前拿到吗?"这样可以确保每个人都在同一起跑线上。如果你想知道在不讨论截止日期的情况下会发生什么,不妨看看这篇文章:"从现在到时间的尽头......"

Rob Toomey

Rob Toomey

TypeCoach 总裁兼联合创始人

相关主题

准备好尝试TypeCoach了吗?

滚动到顶部

I’ll get that to you by Friday

Judgers and Perceivers Often Mean Different Things When Using the Same Phrase

It’s always fun to learn how people define the same words differently based on their personality type. When Judgers commit and say, “I’ll get that to you by Friday,” it often means something entirely different than when a Perceiver uses the exact same phrase. When we ask participants in our workshops to share what they hear when people say “by Friday” it usually breaks down along these lines:

Judgers

  • I’m expecting it before Friday, so Thursday afternoon/evening.
  • Mid-morning on Friday I expect to get it… and I have stuff lined up to send out as soon as I do.
  • Later in the afternoon is a disappointment, but still acceptable.
I'll get that to you by Friday - Judger running

Perceivers

  • I’m expecting it by 4:59 PM on Friday.
  • Anytime before 11:59 PM on Friday – hey, it’s still Friday!
  • Monday morning works – because I wasn’t going to do anything with it over the weekend, anyway!
I'll get that to you by Friday - Perceiver relaxing to work

Naturally, this is a recipe for problems and it’s easy to see why trust issues can emerge when there is a fundamental difference to the point where we define commonly used words differently. The advice to avoid this is quite simple: when discussing timelines and deadlines, it is important to reach a sufficient level of clarity before reaching an agreement. Assuming the person with whom you’re working meets their deadlines, and be clear about what that deadline is.

“Can I have that before Noon on Friday?”

Instead of leaving room for interpretation with “I’ll get that to you by Friday,” try saying something like: “Can I have that before Noon on Friday?” This ensures everyone is on the same page. If you’re curious to learn what happens when NO deadline is discussed, you’ll want to check out the post: “From now until the end of time…”

Rob Toomey

Rob Toomey

President and Co-Founder of TypeCoach

Related Topics

Ready to try TypeCoach?

Rolar para o topo